Jun
20

REVIEWS OF MY BOOKS

Amazon UK:

The Nine Lives of Felicia Miller

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic 3 April 2014
By P.A.G

Format:Paperback
I chose this five star rating for this book because it is an excellent book. It goes where other horror stories don’t go it looks into the emotions of a girl. The girl Flelicia Miller is raped by some thugs in her class, however she meets a white witch who gives her the ability to transform into an species of cat she requires. This book was a must for me because I like cats (not just domestic ones but wild ones and big ones like lions and tigers).
I would recommend this book for teenagers who understand some strong serious more grown up issues. I would also recommend this book for anyone who likes cats (However there are some gory scenes in it).
I also plead to the author Joe Augustyn please write a sequel because this book was fantastic!!!!!!

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

GOODREADS REVIEWS:

DEAD RAIN: A Tale of the Zombie Apocalypse

Steven rated it 5 of 5 stars
Shelves: joe-augustyn
This was a really great, hard to put down, zombie title with some really great scenes and twists to the zombie genre, and a really fun ending.

___________________________________________________________________________________

AMAZON REVIEWS:

DEAD RAIN: A Tale of the Zombie Apocalypse

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I (mostly) liked this book quite a bit, June 15, 2014
By Debra Allen – See all my reviews

Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: DEAD RAIN: A Tale of the Zombie Apocalypse (Kindle Edition)
It was hard for me to rate this book because it was kind of up and down for me. The good parts were really good, very suspenseful and you never really knew what was going to happen. The bad parts weren’t terrible but they took me out of the enjoyable parts.

I’m trying to avoid spoilers here so I’m going to be pretty vague about what I thought was bad, which was the human antagonist of the story. To the author’s credit, it was an interesting twist on how the whole mess started. Unfortunately, for me anyway, the character was largely one dimensional and not as interesting nor as well developed as the other characters.

While the idea he had for adding another element of danger with this character wasn’t bad, I felt it dragged down the story every time (except for the very first time) he appeared. I found myself wishing that he had been killed off early in the book and the author had instead concentrated on the other characters and their struggle.

The rest of the book was really quite good. I became invested in the characters and the action scenes were well paced and interesting. The setting for the last part of the book was innovative and led to interesting situations for the characters. Several times I found myself reading later than I’d intended to because I had to see how the part I was reading came out. The story was full of surprises. It’s not one of those where you can tell who will live and who will die.

The zombies in this are good old school Romero shamblers. In small groups, they’re fairly easily handled if you can keep your head but the true horror of old school zombies is that they are so relentless. They don’t feel fear or pain, only eternal hunger–and because of that relentlessness and hunger, their numbers grow rapidly and the next thing you know you’ve got a horde. If you’re reading this, you already know that hordes are bad. Very bad.

I liked this book and I would read another book by this author. Despite how I went on about the parts I didn’t like, I would recommend it to other zombie fans. I think the character that bugged me so much probably wouldn’t have stuck in my craw so much if the rest of the book hadn’t been so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good story, fast read, June 3, 2014
By Peggy B “Peggy B” (CA) – See all my reviews

Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: DEAD RAIN: A Tale of the Zombie Apocalypse (Kindle Edition)
My type of book – the start of the zombie apocalypse (don’t care for the 2 years, 10 years, etc. later stories), several characters whos stories intersect and lots of action. A complete story from start to finish – not one of these dreary, money-suck “episodes” or “seasons” that seem to be so popular in current zombie fiction. And the author can actually write a coherent, well-crafted story and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hail Joe Augustyn and dead rain, May 8, 2014
By Jeremy T Morehead – See all my reviews

Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Dead Rain: A Tale of the Zombie Apocalypse (Volume 1) (Paperback)
Joe Augustyn is a man who needs no introduction to horror fans. He created the iconic film Night of the Demons. I purchased Dead Rain because I love NOTD, and wanted to see what other stories Mr. Augustyn had for the genre I love. Dead Rain is awesome. Purely, and simply awesome. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend to any fan of zombies and horror in general. Can’t wait to read more of Joes Books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow ! This is the ZOMBIE BOOK I have been waiting for, May 8, 2014
By Kate Jesiolowski – See all my reviews

This review is from: DEAD RAIN: A Tale of the Zombie Apocalypse (Kindle Edition)
I’m a huge fan of The Walking Dead and zombie movies and have read a ton of zombie books so I’ve gotten a little jaded on them. I took a chance on this one because I’m also a fan of the author’s movies and was hoping, based on the blurb, that this would be like a good scary action movie. It is! It’s a long book but I couldn’t put it down. I actually read it straight through because I got sucked in and wanted to see how anyone could possibly survive the scenario being trapped by hundreds of walking dead on a flooded peninsula with all the communications out. Although there is only a small core group of characters and several minor ones, the situations keep changing and the odds keep getting worse for the survivors. The characters are divided equally between men and women, teens and adults and even a little girl. The book goes from being creepy in the beginning to a big action adventure in the last half, for my tastes the best zombie adventure since the original Dawn of the Dead. If you’re a zombie fan you won’t be disappointed. Be forewarned though, although there are teen characters it isn’t a pull-your-punches YA novel. These zombies have teeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classical tale of the zombie apocalypse, April 4, 2014
By LMangumFiction – See all my reviews

This review is from: DEAD RAIN: A Tale of the Zombie Apocalypse (Kindle Edition)
From the writer who brought us the cult classic Night of the Demons comes this fast-paced, gruesome zombie story. Somewhere between Return of the Living Dead and Jonathan Maberry’s Dead of Night, Dead Rain delivers plenty of action and zombie-filled entertainment. Highly recommended for fans of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

THE NINE LIVES OF FELICIA MILLER

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nine Lives of Felicia Miller ROCKED!, January 31, 2013
By The M.A.D. Take – See all my reviews

This review is from: The Nine Lives of Felicia Miller (Paperback)
I have to say that Mr. Augustyn’s story is one of the most gripping
and intense YA paranormal novels I have ever read. Sparing no punches, The Nine Lives of
Felicia Miller explores the emotional impact of a young girl’s assault at the
hands of a group of vicious delinquents, and the price they must ultimately pay.
I devoured the entire book over the course of a weekend, and it was simply delicious~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surreal mirror of our nation’s spiritual malaise, January 14, 2013
By JJ Jirikowic – See all my reviews

This review is from: The Nine Lives of Felicia Miller (Paperback)
As I started reading this book, I thought the depiction of the delinquent and duplicitous brutes who perpetrate the crime a fabrication of evil skillfully penned to serve the narrative, with little relevance to real life. These highschool bullies were too sexually brutal, too cavalier, too narcissistic for me to belief they were mirrors of what teenagers really could be like in small town America. Then when I was half way thru the book, the Steubenville Rape Case hit the news. The way the sickening details of that event resonated with the book was chilling. I realized Agustyn had drawn his villains from life and depicted them faithfully — in all their depravity and greed. My eyes were forced open to view the horror of this tale of fiction as a cautionary tale of what our world can be if human baseness is allowed to blossom unchecked. I read on, rooting for his heroine to use her supernatural powers to right the unnatural wrongs that seems to be festering hidden in our society. I was not disappointed. But I was disturbed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give me more, December 5, 2012
By J. Kimmel-Freeman “Mom, Author, Blogger, Revi… (Ballinger, TX) – See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)

This review is from: The Nine Lives of Felicia Miller (Paperback)
This book was awesome. Quite blood thirsty, but awesome none the less. I loved the characters, I felt like they were well developed and the arcs were wonderful. I loved how Joe took the victim role and turned it on its head and made it do the cat walk!

Can I have a Granny? She is an amazing addition to the story. I love how she helps empower the girls. I want to know Elmo’s story and how Granny Dola ended up in the bass ackwards woods where Felicia lives! Joe, please write their story!

I didn’t like how alone Felicia is through most of the book. But I suppose that makes her a realer character. Man, I wanted to pound that guy (who I won’t name for the sake of the story), but man, I want to pound him and not just rip his head off.

This book does have gore in it, so try to remember that when you read it. But it is a good read.

I recommend it to anyone that likes paranormal-y books. Books that deal with totems too. And of course, books that have a taste for vengeance.

* received this book in exchange for an honest review*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nine Lives of Felicia Miller, October 8, 2012
By Star @ The Bibliophilic Book Blog “-Star” (Owings Mills, MD USA) – See all my reviews

This review is from: The Nine Lives of Felicia Miller (Paperback)
`The Nine Lives of Felicia Miller’ is screenwriter and producer Joe Augustyn’s first novel and it’s a doozy! Felicia Miller is a teenage girl, who experiences the best and worst night of her life in the span of a few hours. After her solo singing performance at her high school, she is attacked and brutally raped by the town delinquent and his best buddies. Saved by the local witch (Granny) and her son, Felicia is given a power beyond imagining – the power to transform into any kind of cat…and exact her revenge on the boys who stole her innocence.

Mr. Augustyn has a knack for writing a story which comes alive before your eyes. `The Nine Lives of Felicia Miller’ reads like a movie and you can see everything happening easily in your mind’s eye. This is a great horror story with an underlying message of empowerment. I loved how the author didn’t shy away from the graphic details, because they made the story even richer and brought the horror to the forefront. I enjoyed Felicia’s discoveries of what she could do with her newfound abilities and the feeling of power she reveled in once she understood more. This is an action and suspense-filled novel, which will keep you on the edge of your seat as you come closer and closer to the epic resolution. Fans of truly dark horror will delight in Mr. Augustyn’s debut novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment

5.0 out of 5 stars A Story LIne made for a Movie, December 22, 2013
By Brian Foster – See all my reviews

This review is from: The Nine Lives of Felicia Miller (Kindle Edition)
This book would make one heck of a movie. It is written so Hollywood types could crank out a script in their asleep. Well written and a real page turner. Look forward to reading more of his stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment

4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!!, June 27, 2013
By Felix Dejesus – See all my reviews

Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Nine Lives of Felicia Miller (Kindle Edition)
I gave it a 4 star because I didn’t agree with the death of two of the characters and also because the beginning was sad for me.

Overall, this is a greet book and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment

5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Treat for Horror Fans, September 9, 2012
By Bobby B. (USA) – See all my reviews

Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Nine Lives of Felicia Miller (Paperback)
I was a big fan of the first Night of the Demons which I saw when I was in high school.
So of course when I saw that Joe Augustyn who was the writer and producer of that movie
had written a book I was all on it.

It didn’t disappoint. This book reads almost like a movie. The main villain reminded me
of the punk character in Night of the Demons, a smarmy delinquent, but the characters
are deeper and more faceted than the ones in the movie. The gang of boys are really
nasty, but in a few spots I actually felt a little sorry for them. Felicia, the main character,
starts off as a normal girl with the usual teen self-doubts and insecurities but goes through
major changes, surviving a sexual attack with the help of a witch’s potion and battling her
conscience as she gets more monstrous and vengeful.

Horror fans will not be disappointed. After the initial set-up things start moving
pretty quickly. There’s plenty of suspense and action, and some of it gets very gory.
There’s also some sex which the author manages to keep tasteful even though it
gets a little graphic. But for me the best scenes are when Felicia turns into different
types of cats, and has an assortment of adventures from various perspectives.
The big cat attack scenes are incredibly brutal, but my favorite was when she
turned into a regular housecat and got trapped by the sadistic boys. One of
the most suspenseful scenes I’ve ever read in any book.

The writing in this book is really entertaining and I’d be tempted to say that
anyone would enjoy it. But because of the graphic violence in some scenes
I’d recommend this wholeheartedly mainly to horror fans. Although there’s
a teen girl in the lead and a romance involved, it’s not a soft horror book
like Twilight. More like a dark Stephen King novel.

It’s a fast but meaty read that left me hungry for more. I hope there’s a sequel.
I’ll be first in line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment

5.0 out of 5 stars Nice work by Joseph Augustyn, September 5, 2012
By haynesd1 – See all my reviews

Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Nine Lives of Felicia Miller (Kindle Edition)
I was drawn to this book by the reputation of Joseph Augustyn as a screenwriter and was not disappointed. He was able to bring together multiple elements which quickly held my interest. The combination of a young adolescent coming or age, witchcraft, and revenge all fueled my inability to put this book down. The diverse range of characters made for great interaction and a wide range of sub plots.

The character of Felicia Miller is introduced to witchcraft in the form of shape shifting by a seemingly sweet grandmotherly witch. She uses her new found power to extract revenge upon the local high school bullies who have wronged her. The twists and turns of her new found feline form are suspenseful and laced with horror. The anticipation of the characters getting their just due is wonderfully built and graphically described.

I was very pleased with the book and quite amazed at how it was easy to read and held my interest. I have already passed it along to all my literary friends as a must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment

5.0 out of 5 stars “Carrie” Meets “Cat People”, September 4, 2012
By Audiohead22 – See all my reviews

Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Nine Lives of Felicia Miller (Kindle Edition)
I’m a cat lover so I couldn’t resist the premise of this book. The story is about a ravaged teenage girl named Felicia who gets revenge through a unique form of witchcraft. I loved the character of the witch. Although she’s really old she’s not a cliched crone, but more like a kindly grandmother. But there’s also room for doubt concerning her motives, which leads to anxiety for Felicia once she starts getting revenge as a feral shapeshifting avenger.

The violence is pretty hardcore with some gruesome descriptions. If you liked the Cat People movie with Nastassia Kinski and remember the scene where the panther rips a man’s arm off, well, there’s a lot of that here. But there’s also a really good story with interesting characters. Felicia’s relationship with her parents rings especially true, with her liberal dad trying to be her buddy and her mom a bit more difficult. I also liked the other shapeshifter characters and the townspeople and hunters. All the characters have clear and unique personalities. Like Felicia’s friend Crystal who stutters because of her insecurity. You really feel for her as if she were a real person. You even feel sorry for the worst of the boys at times, when you learn a little something about their lives.

I could go on about the Sheriff’s relationship with his delinquent son, the greedy businesswoman trying to snooker the witch out of her property, Felicia’s star-crossed love affair and other plot twists but suffice to say, I could not put this book down. If you’re a cat person and horror fan like me, I’d bet you’re going to really enjoy this book as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
Report abuse | Permalink
Comment Comment